#24in48 Wrap Up


It’s over! The 24 in 48 readathon was a blast, and I had a great time spending long hours in my bed being immersed in books. It’s my first time participating in this particular readathon and knowing that in the weekend I will be generally free, I signed up. I’m so glad I joined the readathon! With a great atmosphere on social media and great weather in The Hague, I finally finished my readathon. Check out my TBR post here.

feather10

Saturday

The readathon started at 6 am my time. My alarm rang at 6, immediately silenced and ignored by me. Though I slept at 11 pm, I needed my beauty sleep. I only woke up at 7, one hour after the start of the worldwide readathon.

7.00 – Woke up, made tea, and settled right into reading.

7.20 – 8.20 – Read a little less than 100 pages of Aquarium by David Vann. Then proceeded to have breakfast: yogurt with banana and a sprinkle of cinnamon.

8.40 – 9.40 – Continued reading Aquarium, and finished it (a total of 200 pages) in an hour! Took a small break while watching Youtube.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
First book finished in the readathon!

10.00 – 11.45 – Started Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb, the second book of the Farseer trilogy that has a whopping 600 pages. Hoped to get immersed in the world despite the fact that I didn’t love the first book that much. I read around 90 pages of the book, which had way smaller text and narrower margins than my previous book, but it still felt like a victory after reading for almost two hours. Then I had lunch: croissant that I warmed up on the oven, filled with butter, cheese, slices of turkey, and arugula.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
Look at that delicious and fulfilling meal.

13.00 – 13.30 – After lunch and lazying around for half an hour, I left the house and rode my bike to the park. While cycling there I put on my audiobook for The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling that I had been reading for over a month now.

13.30 – 14.30 – Found a nice spot under the shades of the trees right next to a tiny lake, and continued listening to The Casual Vacancy while enjoying the sun. Stopped as well for a few minutes to eat another croissant and read Royal Assassin.

14.30 – 15.30 – Cycled back to my house (it was roughly a 20 minute ride back) while continuing to listen to The Casual Vacancy again. Took another Youtube break when I arrived home.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
Chilling and reading while enjoying nature.

15.45 – 16.00 – Started reading Royal Assassin again, but then I fell asleep!

16.00 – 19.30 – Decided to take a nap, stupidly without making an alarm. As a result I woke up in the evening, well-rested but feeling like I could’ve read so much more.

19.30 – 21.15 – Started reading Picasso, My Grandfather by Marina Picasso, a lighter read that I hope won’t make me sleepy, while sipping iced water because it is HOT. Finished the 135-page book a little over 9 pm, the fifteen hour mark.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
Second book down!!!

22.00 – 00.15 – Continued reading Royal Assassin, which this time around was much more interesting and didn’t make me sleepy at all. I also made myself a cup of hazelnut latte to boost myself awake sometime before 10 pm.

Decided to go to bed afterwards while listening to The Casual Vacancy with a sleep timer of 15 minutes.

Time spent reading: 10 hrs 45 min

Total pages read: 598 pgs

feather10

Sunday

6.30 – 7.00 – Woke up, had breakfast (yogurt with granola, bananas, honey, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and a sprinkle of chia seeds).

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
Lovely breakfast.

7.00 – 7.30 – Listened to The Casual Vacancy.

7.30 – 9.30 – Read Royal Assassin again, feeling very very immersed in the world and completely enjoying it.

9.30 – 10.30 – Yoga, shower, and getting ready for church.

10.30 – 13.30 – Church, lunch with church friends and chatting.

13.30 – 14.00 – Read Royal Assassin.

14.00 – 16.30 – Got super sleepy, as usual, and took a long long nap.

16.30 – 17.30 – Listened to The Casual Vacancy again while sleepily lying around the bed.

17.30 – 18.10 – Read Royal Assassin in bed with a snack I randomly bought at the supermarket.

Processed with VSCO with m3 preset
A surprisingly nice “cookie” bought at an Asian supermarket that tastes like Pandan.

18.10 – 20.20 – Dinner, socializing with the boyfriend, etc.

20.20 – 21.20 – Continued reading Royal Assassin for a while.

Afterwards I didn’t have the energy or took the effort to continue reading. I went to bed early and didn’t wake up until 7, which meant that the readathon has passed!

Time spent reading: 16 hrs 25 minutes

Total pages read: 783 pages

feather10

Wrapping Up

I won’t get into detail of my thoughts on the books I read, but I did finish two whole books and reached the midpoint of another book! It’s a huge thing to be able to read over 700 pages in 2 days. The books I chose to read turned out to be quite different from the books I chose for my TBR. I alternated between four different books, which felt like a lot, but I did finish two of them fairly quickly because of the large text and small amount of pages. Additionally the other one was an audiobook, which I thought was a smart move because I get to read when I’m doing other stuff where I physically cannot hold a book, like when I was cycling to the park.

Since also the readathon focuses more on the amount of time spent reading, 16 hours in 48 hours doesn’t really seem a lot. It was definitely far from the goal of reading 24 hours. But I felt like I haven’t binge read the way I did this weekend in so long, and it felt so good! Just to be able to focus on reading for a weekend felt really nice. Unfortunately on Sunday I barely read that much because of all the social obligations I had to do, and I realised that by the second day I sort of had lower stamina and enthusiasm to read compared to the first day. Oh well, at least I did a good job!

Again, huge thanks for the people at 24 in 48 that really made everything possible. Your readathon did not only have a great idea, but was so much fun and very well organized. Keep your eyes out for my monthly wrap up post to hear my thoughts on the books I finished in the readathon!

feather10

Did you participate in the 24 in 48 readathon? Do you have any suggestions for future readathons? Let me know in the comments below!

Last1

Last2

Last3

19 thoughts on “#24in48 Wrap Up

  1. Great job! I love how you included where you were and what you were eating (I’m a sucker for food). I’ve never heard of any of these books other than Casual Vacancy, so I’m going to have to go read the synopses. Glad you had fun!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Chelsea! I love food too, especially snacking during reading! Even though lately I feel like I’ve been snacking less…

      Like

    1. Hahaha thank you so much. There are definitely moments when I would fail a readathon as well… but as long as I keep my social schedule empty a week before the readathon I usually end up succeeding the readathon 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment